The Lab School,

between research

and education

What is a Lab School?

A laboratory school is a school backed by a university department or an institution that trains teachers. Three complementary activities are associated with it: teaching, training and research ( Wilcox-Herzog & McLaren, 2012 ). Because of this structure, an organic link is naturally woven between education and research, which allows "to develop and test new approaches, by modeling best practices" ( Cucchiara, 2010 ).

 

Such schools have existed for a long time on university campuses: according to Cassidy & Sanders (2010) - who do not cite the source of this information -, their existence was documented as early as the 17th century, in Europe as well as across the Atlantic, or still in Japan, where they are called attached schools (Hayo, 1993, cited by Cassidy & Sanders, 2010 ). Lab schools experienced considerable development in the United States between the middle of the 19th and 20th centuries and played a major role in the field of educational research. One of the most famous was founded in 1894 in Chicago by psychologist and philosopher John Dewey (1959–1952) in the course of progressive education . It opened its doors in January 1896 with twelve children (or 16, according to sources) and a teacher, then gradually grew to include 140 pupils (mainly from privileged backgrounds), 23 teachers and 10 assistant students from education in 1901 (Knoll, 2014). Among the most well-known lab schools today are those of UCLA , Washington , New York , and Toronto .

 

The proliferation of lab schools during the first half of the twentieth century made it possible to carry out a number of educational experiments in a framework where they could be rigorously evaluated as and when they were implemented. They notably brought a lot to our knowledge on the development of the child. It is, for example, in such frameworks that the theory of mind was developed by John Flavell ( Wilcox-Herzog & McLaren, 2012 ) and that the famous marshmallow test developed by Walter Mischel made it possible to discover the link between the ability to defer gratification and the chances of success in life. Depending on the context, variable importance is given to training and research. In Chicago, for example, research clearly occupied a privileged position, while the training of education professionals came second. Conversely, some schools do not focus on research, but endeavor to apply Dewey's theories, such as, for example, the Greenwood Laboratory school of the University of Missouri ( Cucchiara, 2010 ) or to found their pedagogy on recent educational research, such as the Khan Lab School . The latter is not even affiliated with a university, but justifies the choice of the term lab school on its site : As a lab school, we monitor existing and new findings in education research and learning science to inform our programmatic choices.

 

In any case, by integrating a school into the campus, the university assumes a responsibility that is traditionally outside its domain, as Maia Cucchiara (2010) points out . The creation of most of these schools is inseparable from a more general evolution of higher education, which is reflected in the United States by an increased civic and community commitment on the part of the major research universities.

Lab schools are most often private, since universities establish their own charter schools, but there is nothing to prevent a lab school from being a public establishment. Simple question of political will. There is at least one in the United States: in 1998, the Pennsylvania Gazette announces that the University of Pennsylvania has entered into a partnership with a public school and with the Philadelphia Teachers' Federation to open, first three years later, a first public school lab. This school receives significant assistance from the university ($ 700,000 per year, or $ 1,000 per student), assistance intended to enable the recruitment of additional teachers to reduce the number of students per class and improve thus considerably the rate of supervision compared to what it was before (the problem of overcrowded classes is not, as we know, specific to France).

An international network federated by the International association of Laboratory and University Affiliated Schools (IALS)

Map of Lab Schools around the world

In an increasingly international environment, links have started to be forged between lab schools around the world. Many of them are now affiliated with the International association of Laboratory and University Affiliated Schools (IALS). At the time of its creation (whose precise date does not appear on the Internet), this association had only a national influence and was called the National Association of Laboratory and University Affiliated Schools (NALS). After half a century of existence, an increasing number of foreign institutions having joined the association, the name has been changed to reflect the diversity of the members. NALS has become IALS. But we still find the trace of the original name in the journal published by the IALS which remains the NALS Journal . The INALS brings together around a hundred schools associated with higher education establishments or teams of researchers worldwide. It funds research projects and organizes an annual conference where members have the opportunity to meet.

 

As the IALS site indicates , the definition used to designate a lab school is deliberately very broad, so as to accommodate very diverse configurations. And indeed, these differ considerably depending on the contexts in which schools are created: a lab school can be an establishment formally integrated into a university department, like the one founded by J. Dewey. This is the case for the majority of North American and Japanese lab schools, such as the Shinwa Kindergarten School of Kobe Shinwa Women's University, one of the lab schools most recently affiliated with IALS.

 

But it can also be a device set up by a school which brings together the skills of researchers in order to offer an “evidence-based” pedagogy. This is particularly the case of the very recent Labyrinth School in Brno, in the Czech Republic, which opened its doors in September 2016. Based on respect for the individual needs of children, it aims to allow each of them to develop at maximum potential. It operates in association with a think tank made up of school leaders, teachers, academics, non-governmental organizations and representatives of the Ministry of Education and defines itself as a “ modern, open, welcoming school, bilingual, creative, active, community, for everyone, for the future ”. The Labyrinth School was the first lab school to join IALS in Europe.

Sharing knowledge and disseminating practices: “evidence-based” pedagogy

Beyond the heterogeneity of the devices, a lab school is characterized by a participation in the construction of knowledge and by the application to education of a scientific approach or " education based on evidence " (evidence-based) . As researcher Franck Ramus points out , the word "proof" in the expression evidence-based refers to factual data, more than to real evidence. The idea is to promote educational practices based on such data, as opposed to practices based on simple representations or on philosophies. But in fact, this latter approach is still underdeveloped in France, where education and research are still an “ improbable couple ”.

 

Today, however, more and more voices are rising in our country in favor of increasing links between research and education, such as those of researcher François Taddei or Minister of Education Najat Vallaud Belkacem . Various recent initiatives are likely to strengthen them: this is particularly the case with Associated Education Locations (LéA) set up within the framework of the French Education Institute (IFÉ), the first Carnot Institute of the education (ICÉ) and projects such as La Main à la Pâte , Les Savanturiers or Syn Lab .

However, the number of teachers and, consequently, of pupils who benefit from this development remains limited. To enable scaling up, initial and in-service teacher training must be improved, as unanimously recommended by the studies and reports informed by research published since the start of the 2016 academic year, be it the report on inequalities at the school of CNESCO , the TIMSS study or the PISA survey.

Subscribe to our newsletter !

Lab School Paris

46, 48 rue de Montreuil, 75011 PARIS

info@labschool.fr

© 2020 - labschool.fr - All rights reserved

  • Mail
  • Facebook
  • Twiter
  • Instagram
  • Youtube
  • Linkedin

Les Lab School,

entre recherche

et éducation

Qu'est-ce-qu'une Lab School ?

Une « école laboratoire » (laboratory school) est une école adossée à un département d’université ou à une institution qui forme des enseignants. Trois activités complémentaires y sont associées : l’enseignement, la formation et la recherche (Wilcox-Herzog & McLaren, 2012). Du fait de cette structuration, un lien organique se tisse tout naturellement entre éducation et recherche, qui permet de « développer et de tester de nouvelles approches, en modélisant les meilleures pratiques » (Cucchiara, 2010).

De telles écoles existent de longue date sur les campus universitaires : selon Cassidy & Sanders (2010) — qui ne citent pas la source de cette information –, leur existence serait documentée dès le xviie siècle, en Europe aussi bien qu’outre Atlantique, ou encore au Japon, où elles sont nommées attached schools (Hayo, 1993, cité par Cassidy & Sanders, 2010). Les lab schools ont connu un développement considérable aux États-Unis entre le milieu du xixe et du xxe siècle et ont joué un rôle majeur dans le champ de la recherche en éducation. L’une des plus célèbres a été fondée en 1894 à Chicago par le psychologue et philosophe John Dewey (1959–1952) dans le courant de la progressive education. Elle a ouvert ses portes en janvier 1896 avec douze enfants (ou 16, selons les sources) et un enseignant, puis s’est progressivement agrandie jusqu’à compter 140 élèves (principalement issus de milieux favorisés), 23 enseignants et 10 étudiants assistants d’enseignement en 1901 (Knoll, 2014). Parmi les lab schools les plus connues aujourd’hui, citons celles de UCLA, de Washington, de New York, ou de Toronto.

La multiplication des lab schools au cours de la première moitié du xxe siècle a permis de mener à bien nombre d’expérimentations pédagogiques dans un cadre où elles pouvaient être évaluées de manière rigoureuse au fur et à mesure de leur implémentation. Elles ont notamment beaucoup apporté à notre connaissance sur le développement de l’enfant. C’est, par exemple, dans de tels cadres qu’a été élaborée la théorie de l’esprit par John Flavell (Wilcox-Herzog & McLaren, 2012) et que le fameux test du marshmallow mis au point par Walter Mischel a permis de découvrir le lien entre la capacité à différer la gratification et les chances de réussite dans la vie. Selon les contextes, une importance variable est accordée à la formation et la recherche. À Chicago, par exemple, la recherche occupait clairement une position privilégiée, tandis que la formation de professionnels de l’éducation passait au second plan. À l’inverse certaines écoles ne se focalisent pas sur la recherche, mais s’attachent à mettre en application les théories de Dewey, comme par exemple, la Greenwood Laboratory school de l’université du Missouri (Cucchiara, 2010) ou à fonder leur pédagogie sur les recherches récentes en éducation, comme la Khan Lab School. Cette dernière n’est même pas affiliée à une université, mais justifie le choix du terme lab school sur son site : As a lab school, we monitor existing and new findings in education research and learning science to inform our programmatic choices.

Dans tous les cas, en intégrant une école dans le campus, l’université assume une responsabilité qui est traditionnellement en dehors de son domaine, comme le souligne Maia Cucchiara (2010). La création de la plupart de ces écoles est indissociable d’une évolution plus générale de l’enseignement supérieur, qui se traduit aux États-Unis par un engagement civique et communautaire accru de la part des grandes universités de recherche.

Les lab schools sont le plus souvent privées, car les universités établissent leurs propres charter schools, mais rien ne s’oppose à ce qu’une lab school soit un établissement public. Simple question de volonté politique. Il en existe au moins une aux États-Unis : en 1998, the Pennsylvania Gazette annonce que l’université de Pennsylvanie a conclu un partenariat avec une école publique et avec la fédération des enseignants de Philadelphie pour ouvrir, trois ans plus tard, une première lab school publique. Cette école bénéficie d’une importante aide de la part de l’université (700.000 $ par an, soit 1000 $ par élève), une aide destinée à permettre le recrutement d’enseignants supplémentaires pour diminuer le nombre d’élèves par classe et améliorer ainsi considérablement le taux d’encadrement par rapport à ce qu’il était auparavant (le problème des classes surchargées n’est pas, on le sait, propre à la France).

Un réseau international fédéré par l’International association of Laboratory and University Affiliated Schools (IALS)

Carte des Lab Schools dans le monde

Dans un environnement de plus en plus international, des liens ont commencé à se tisser entre les lab schools du monde entier. Nombre d’entre elles sont aujourd’hui affiliées à International association of Laboratory and University Affiliated Schools (IALS). Au moment de sa création (dont la date précise n’apparaît pas sur Internet), cette association avait uniquement un rayonnement national et se nommait la National Association of Laboratory and University Affiliated Schools (NALS). Après un demi-siècle d’existence, un nombre croissant d’institutions étrangères ayant rejoint l’association, le nom a été modifié pour refléter la diversité des membres. La NALS est devenu IALS. Mais on trouve encore la trace du nom d’origine dans la revue publiée par l’IALS qui demeure le NALS Journal. L’IALS fédère une centaine d’écoles associées à des établissements d’enseignement supérieur ou à des équipes de chercheurs dans le monde entier. Elle finance des projets de recherche et organise une conférence annuelle où les membres ont la possibilité de se rencontrer.

Ainsi que l’indique le site de l’IALS, la définition retenue pour désigner une lab school est volontairement très large, de façon à accueillir des configurations très diverses. Et en effet, celles-ci diffèrent considérablement en fonction des contextes dans lesquels sont créées les écoles : une lab school peut être un établissement formellement intégré à un département d’université, comme celle fondée par J. Dewey. C’est le cas de la majorité des lab schools nord-américaines et japonaises, comme la Shinwa Kindergarten School of Kobe Shinwa Women’s University, l’une des lab schools les plus récemment affiliées à l’IALS.

Mais il peut également s’agir d’un dispositif mis en place par une école qui s’adjoint les compétences de chercheurs afin de proposer une pédagogie « fondée sur les preuves » (evidence-based). C’est notamment le cas de la toute récente Labyrinth School de Brno, en République tchèque, qui a ouvert ses portes en septembre 2016. Fondée sur le respect des besoins individuels des enfants, elle vise à permettre à chacun d’eux de développer au maximum son potentiel. Elle fonctionne en association avec un think tank composé de chefs d’établissement, d’enseignants, d’universitaires, d’organisations non gouvernementales et de représentants du ministère de l’Éducation et se définit comme une école « moderne, ouverte, accueillante, bilingue, créative, active, communautaire, pour tous, pour le futur ». La Labyrinth School a été la première lab school à rejoindre à l’IALS en Europe.

Partage des savoirs et dissémination des pratiques : la pédagogie « fondée sur les preuves »

(evidence-based)

Au-delà de l’hétérogénéité des dispositifs, une lab school se caractérise par une participation à la construction des savoirs et par l’application à l’éducation d’une approche scientifique ou « éducation fondée sur les preuves » (evidence-based). Ainsi que le fait observer le chercheur Franck Ramus, le mot « preuve » dans l’expression evidence-based fait référence à des données factuelles, plus qu’à de véritables preuves. L’idée est de promouvoir les pratiques éducatives basées sur de telles données, par opposition aux pratiques fondée sur de simples représentations ou sur des philosophies. Mais de fait, cette dernière approche est encore peu développée en France, où éducation et recherche font toujours figure de « couple improbable ».

Aujourd’hui cependant, des voix de plus en plus nombreuses s’élèvent dans notre pays en faveur de l’accroissement des liens entre recherche et éducation, comme celles du chercheur François Taddei ou de la ministre de l’Éducation Najat Vallaud Belkacem. Différentes initiatives récentes sont de nature à les renforcer : c’est notamment le cas des Lieux d’éducation associés (LéA) mis en place dans le cadre de l’Institut français d’éducation (IFÉ), du premier Institut Carnot de l’éducation (ICÉ) et de projets tels que La Main à la pâte, les Savanturiers ou Syn Lab.

Mais le nombre d’enseignants et, par voie de conséquence, d’élèves qui bénéficient de cette évolution reste limité. Pour permettre le passage à l’échelle, il faut améliorer la formation initiale et continue des enseignants, ainsi que le préconisent de façon unanime les études et rapports informés par la recherche publiés depuis la rentrée 2016, qu’il s’agisse du rapport sur les inégalités à l’école du CNESCO, de l’étude TIMSS ou de l’enquête PISA.

Inscrivez vous à notre Newsletter !

Lab School Paris

46, 48 rue de Montreuil, 75011 PARIS

© 2020 - labschool.fr - Tous droits réservés

  • Mail
  • Facebook
  • Twiter
  • Instagram
  • Youtube
  • Linkedin