Fond_labschool-20.png

A laboratory school is a school affiliated to a university department or a teacher training structure.

Three complementary activities are associated with it: teaching, training and research. Because of this structure, an organic link is naturally drawn between education and research, which allows to “Develop and test new approaches, by modeling the best practices” ( Cucchiara, 2010 ).

Recherche_anglais-60.png
logo-02.png

What is a Lab School?

IMG_7433.jpg
Fond_projet_péda.png

The simultaneous teaching of disciplines in two languages is the model chosen by the school. It is based on co-teaching in two languages and on the presence in the class of children whose language levels of French and English vary from beginner to native.

Bilingualism by mutual immersion

The Lab School Paris is an innovative, bilingual, united, secular and eco-responsible school. It supports children in acquiring knowledge, skills and culture from the Ministry of Education’s curriculum, while paying particular attention to the development of socio-emotional skills (creativity, critical thinking, collaboration, empathy , etc.). It aims at transforming pupils into responsible, enlightened, autonomous, supportive and blooming citizens.

Our educational project

Testimonies of parents and children

 

I pre-register my child.

The best

is to try!

Hybrid

pedagogy:

The pedagogy of the Lab School Paris relies on a hybrid approach, that is to say it is a synthesis inspired by contributions from different approaches. On the one hand, it draws on the contribution of pioneers of educational innovation, such as Maria Montessori , Célestin Freinet , John Dewey , Alexander Neill or Rudolf Steiner. On the other hand, it uses the current research in educational sciences and in other fields such as psychology, sociology, neuroscience, philosophy or anthropology. In collaboration with the pedagogical council and the researchers of the Lab School Network. The educational team takes into account studies which scientifically evaluate teaching practices -both from the point of view of academic success and well-being at school- and put them into work with children.

Co-teaching

The teaching team works as a duo of French-English teachers. The supervision rate is one teacher for a maximum of 15 children.

School routines:

The Lab School Paris follows the academic calendar of the Parisian school district. Classes are held all day Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday, as well as Wednesday morning. Only middle school students have lessons on Friday afternoon; lessons for elementary school students end at 11:30 a.m. A daycare is offered to all elementary students, as is a study time for middle schoolers.

School routines:

 

Lab School Paris

We welcome children from years 2 to 9 , divided into three different classes, by “cycles” (2, 3 and 4). There are generally around ten students per level, and therefore around thirty per cycle.

 

The school is located at 46-48 rue de Montreuil, 75011 Paris.

 

Fond_timeline-34-42.png
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Pinterest Icon
  • White Instagram Icon

Reception

icone_timeline-35-35.png

Cycle 2

8.30 am - 8.45 am

Children are welcomed with their parents. This first moment ensures a smooth transition between home and school, while promoting exchanges with the team

and between families.

CM1-CM2-College

8.45 am - 9.00 am

Fundamental learning

icone_timeline-36-36.png

8.45 am - 11.45 am

The school routine and the organization of work is partly inspired by the Montessori pedagogy, which provides ample working hours. The learning system is personalized, respecting the child's pace and his way of appropriating knowledge. The support we use often allows self-reflexion and encourages collaborative learning, as well as peer tutoring.

Lunch and outing to the park

icone_timeline-35-37-37-40.png

12 pm - 2 pm

Meals take place in the classes. Lunch is taken together with members of the educational team. It is treated as a moment of exchange and learning in its own right. Parents who wish to can come and have lunch with us (bringing their own meal) from time to time and help supervise the meal. Recreation takes place in a nearby park.

Project-based

learning

icone_timeline-35-37-37-39.png

2 pm

School time takes into account the

biological rhythm of children. Many works indicate that the beginning of the afternoon is the least favorable moment for learning requiring sustained attention. Upon returning from recess, a moment of relaxation is offered, followed by various activities, in groups or independently. They allow a reconnection with fundamental learning: artistic practices, collaborative projects, yoga, scientific experiments, jobs discovery, etc. It is also the time when children can review, at their own pace, concepts that they have not yet fully assimilated or explore the flipped class’ content.

Transition

icone_timeline-35-37-37-41.png

Cycle 2: 4.15 pm

CM1-CM2: 4.30 pm

College: 4.45 pm

The school day ends at 4:15 pm to allow parents to pick up children who do not participate in the extracurricular workshops of the Arts and Sciences Lab.

Extra-curricular workshops

icone_timeline-35-37-37-38.png

After school

After school, children have the opportunity to participate in extra-curricular workshops as part of the Arts and Sciences Lab

The teachers

Gabrielle Cummins

Enseignante anglophone du cycle 2

Florence Arfi

Enseignante sciences et mathématiques du collège

Philippine Woitiée

Enseignante francophone du cycle 2

Alice Guin

Enseignante anglophone du collège

Claire Sharp

Enseignante anglophone du cycle 3

Isabelle Laville

Enseignante de français et d'histoire géographie du collège

Cécile Emeraud-Perin

Enseignante francophone du cycle 3

Claire Sophie Dagnan

Enseignante de musique

School routines:

Register

Pre-registrations for 2020-2021 for classes from 1st to 4th year are open. Pre-registrations for 2021-2022 begin in November 2020.

The pre-registration procedure consists of three stages:

1- Come to an information meeting. The next meetings will take place on Monday 11/16/2020 at 7 p.m. ( link to registration ) and Friday 12/11/2020 at 7 p.m. ( link to registration ). They will take place online, and it is necessary to register in advance so that we can send you the link the day before.

2- Fill out the form via Scolana which allows us to get to know your child and your motivations better. A member of our team will contact you for a first telephone meeting.

3- If, at the end of this exchange, you wish to engage in the second part of the registration procedure, you can do so on Helloasso . The application fees are 50 € per child, including membership in the association, an appointment with a member of the team and a half-day trial (in cycle 2) or a day of 'test (in cycles 3 and 4). This amount is deductible from registration fees once it is finalized.

We welcome as a priority the students who seem to us to be able to benefit the most from our pedagogy. The adequacy between the educational project of the family and that of the Lab School is also taken into consideration. We want, as far as possible, to achieve a balance between French, English or bilingual mother tongue students, and between girls and boys. For students from cycle 3 (CM1, CM2 and college levels), at least an intermediate level of English because part of the teaching takes place in English. We also wish to welcome students from different socio-economic backgrounds, as well as 10 to 20% of students with specific educational needs (to be defined beforehand with the families and, where applicable, the MDPH).

For the year 2021-2022, there are only scholarships left for tranches 5 and 6.

Tableau_tarif_PrimaireEN.png
Tableau_tarif_CollegeEN.png

These prices do not include:

  • registration fees: € 600, payable upon first registration, € 200 in the event of re-registration. These fees are not refundable in case of withdrawal (on request, the registration fees can be paid in several installments).
  • school supplies: at most 90 € for the school year.

In order to welcome children and families from all backgrounds to the Lab School Paris, we have set up a scholarship system.

The maximum tuition fee is €1,045 per month over 10 months (excluding solidarity contributions and middle school extra).

Depending on their income, families can apply for grants - partial or total -. They are awarded after examination of applications by a committee made up of members of the steering committee and the educational council. The commission takes into account both parental income, and the situation of families (number of children, additional income, etc.).

The number of children who can be enrolled in each rate bracket is limited and fixed in advance, so as to preserve the financial balance of the establishment. It depends on the subsidies and sources of income that the school manages to generate in addition to the tuition fees paid by parents.

Payment is made at the start of the quarter, over 10 months (September to June of the current school year). A solidarity contribution of € 25 per child per month is added to the school fees: it is paid by all and intended to reduce the cost of schooling or certain services for the families who need it most, or to finance other projects (outings, school trips, etc.).

 
IMG_7432.jpg
 

Pictures of the school

Fond_labschool-20.png

Une « école laboratoire » (laboratory school) est une école adossée à un département d’université ou à une institution qui forme des enseignants.


Trois activités complémentaires y sont associées : l’enseignement, la formation et la recherche. Du fait de cette structuration, un lien organique se tisse tout naturellement entre éducation et recherche, qui permet de

« développer et de tester de nouvelles approches, en modélisant les meilleures pratiques » (Cucchiara, 2010).

recherche action
logo-02.png

Qu'est-ce qu'une lab school ?

IMG_7433.jpg
Fond_projet_péda.png

L’enseignement simultané des différentes disciplines dans deux langues est le modèle qui a été choisi par l’école. Il s’appuie sur le co-enseignement en deux langues et sur la présence dans la classe d’enfants dont les niveaux de maîtrise du français et de

l’anglais couvrent tout

l'éventail possible.

Bilinguisme par

immersion réciproque

La Lab School de Paris est une école innovante, bilingue, solidaire, laïque et éco-responsable. Elle accompagne les enfants dans l’acquisition des connaissances du socle commun de l’Éducation nationale de connaissances, de compétences et de culture, tout en accordant une attention toute particulière au développement des compétences socio-émotionnelles (créativité, esprit critique, collaboration, empathie, etc.), dans le but de leur permettre de devenir des citoyens responsables, éclairés, autonomes, solidaires et épanouis.

Notre projet pédagogique

Témoignages de parents et d'enfants

 

Je pré-inscris mon enfant pour découvrir l'école.

Le mieux c'est d'essayer !

Lien vers la

pré-inscription

Hybridation

pédagogique

La pédagogie de la Lab School repose sur le principe de l’hybridation pédagogique, c’est-à-dire le fait de réaliser une synthèse en s’inspirant d’apports de différentes approches. Elle s’inspire d’une part des pionniers de l’innovation pédagogique, tels que Maria Montessori, Célestin Freinet, John Dewey, ou Alexander Neill, d’autre part des recherches actuelles en sciences de l’éducation et dans d’autres champs comme la psychologie, la sociologie, les neurosciences, la philosophie ou l’anthropologie. En concertation avec le conseil pédagogique et les chercheurs du Lab School Network, l’équipe éducative prend en compte les études qui évaluent scientifiquement les pratiques pédagogiques,

tant du point de vue de la réussite scolaire que du bien-être à l’école et les mettent en

œuvre avec les enfants.

Co-enseignement

L’équipe enseignante fonctionne 

sur une équipe de duos d'enseignants

francophones-anglophones.

Le taux d’encadrement est de un-e enseignant-e pour un maximum de 15 enfants.

Les rythmes scolaires

La Lab School suit le calendrier scolaire de l’académie de Paris. Les cours ont lieu toute la journée le lundi, mardi, jeudi et vendredi, ainsi que le mercredi matin.

Seuls les élèves de niveau collège ont cours le vendredi après-midi ; les cours des élèves de l’école élémentaire se terminent à 11h30. Une garderie est proposée à tous les élèves de niveau élémentaire.

Découvrez comment se passe une journée à l'école en vidéo 

 

La Lab School Paris

Nous accueillons des enfants du CP à la 4e, répartis en trois groupes-classes différents, par cycle (2, 3 et 4). Il y a en général une dizaine d’élèves par niveau, soit une trentaine par cycle.

L'école se situe au 46-48 rue de Montreuil, 75011 Paris.

Fond_timeline-34-42.png
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Pinterest Icon
  • White Instagram Icon

Accueil

icone_timeline-35-35.png

Cycle 2

8h30 - 8h45

Les enfants sont accueillis, avec leurs parents. Ce premier moment permet d’assurer une transition fluide entre la maison et l’école, tout en favorisant les échanges avec l’équipe

et entre les familles.

CM1-CM2-Collège

8h45 - 9h00

Apprentissages fondamentaux

icone_timeline-36-36.png

8h45 - 11h45

Le rythme scolaire et

l’organisation du travail sont en partie inspirés de la pédagogie Montessori, qui prévoit de longues plages de travail. Les apprentissages sont personnalisés, dans le respect du rythme de l’enfant et de sa façon de s’approprier les connaissances. Les supports que nous utilisons permettent souvent l’auto-correction et nous encourageons les apprentissages collaboratifs, ainsi que le tutorat par les pairs.

Déjeuner et sortie au parc

icone_timeline-35-37-37-40.png

12h-14h

Les repas se déroulent dans

les classes. Le déjeuner est pris

en commun avec des membres de l’équipe éducative. Il constitue un moment d’échange et d’apprentissage à part entière. Les parents qui le souhaitent peuvent venir déjeuner avec nous (en apportant leur repas) de temps à autre et participer à l’encadrement du repas. La récréation se déroule dans un parc voisin.

Apprentissages

par projet

icone_timeline-35-37-37-39.png

14h00

L’aménagement du temps scolaire 

prend en compte le rythme biologique

de l’enfant. De nombreux travaux indiquent

que le début d’après-midi est le moment le moins favorable aux apprentissages nouveaux nécessitant de l’attention. Au retour de la récréation un moment de relaxation est proposé, suivi de différentes activités, en groupe ou en autonomie, qui permettent de réactiver les apprentissages fondamentaux : pratiques artistiques, projets collaboratifs, yoga, expériences scientifiques, découverte de différents métiers, etc. C’est aussi le moment où les enfants peuvent revoir, à leur rythme, des notions qu’ils n’ont pas encore entièrement assimilées en classe ou

visionner les capsules

de la classe inversée.

Sortie

icone_timeline-35-37-37-41.png

Cycle 2 : 16h15

CM1-CM2 : 16h30

Collège : 16h45

La journée de classe s’achève à 16h15 pour permettre aux parents de venir chercher les enfants qui ne participent pas aux ateliers périscolaires du Lab des arts et des sciences. 

Ateliers

extra-scolaires

icone_timeline-35-37-37-38.png

Après l'école

Après l’école, les enfants ont la possibilité de participer à des ateliers extra-scolaires dans le cadre du Lab des arts et des sciences  

Les enseignantes

Gabrielle Cummins

Enseignante anglophone du cycle 2

Florence Arfi

Enseignante sciences et mathématiques du collège

Philippine Woitiée

Enseignante francophone du cycle 2

Alice Guin

Enseignante anglophone du collège

Claire Sharp

Enseignante anglophone du cycle 3

Isabelle Laville

Enseignante de français et d'histoire géographie du collège

Cécile Emeraud-Perin

Enseignante francophone du cycle 3

Claire Sophie Dagnan

Enseignante de musique

Les enseignantes se présentent en vidéo

S'inscrire (il reste quelques places en 5e et 3e pour l'année 2020/2021

Les pré-inscriptions pour 2021-2022 pour les nouvelles familles sont ouvertes.

La procédure de pré-inscription comporte trois étapes :

1-  Participer à une réunion d’information en ligne. Les prochaines réunions auront lieu le lundi 16/11/2020 à 19h (lien vers l'inscription) et le vendredi 11/12/2020 à 19h (lien vers l'inscription). Elles se dérouleront en ligne,  et il est nécessaire de s'inscrire préalablement afin que l'on puisse vous envoyer le lien la veille.

2- Remplir le formulaire via Scolana qui nous permet de mieux connaître votre enfant et vos motivations. Un membre de notre équipe vous contactera pour un premier rendez-vous téléphonique.

3- Si, à l’issue de cet échange, vous souhaitez vous engager dans la seconde partie de la procédure d’inscription, vous pouvez le faire sur Helloasso. Les frais de dossier s’élèvent à 50 € par enfant, comprenant l’adhésion à l’association, un rendez-vous avec un membre de l’équipe et une demi-journée d’essai (en cycle 2) ou une journée d’essai (en cycles 3 et 4). Cette somme est déductible des frais d’inscription une fois celle-ci finalisée.

Nous accueillons en priorité les élèves qui nous semblent pouvoir bénéficier le plus de notre pédagogie. L’adéquation entre le projet éducatif de la famille et celui de la Lab School est également prise en considération. Nous souhaitons, dans la mesure du possible, parvenir à un équilibre entre les élèves de langue maternelle française, anglaise ou bilingues, et entre filles et garçons. Concernant les élèves à partir du cycle 3 (niveaux CM1, CM2 et collège), un niveau d’anglais au minimum intermédiaire car une partie des enseignements se déroule en anglais. Nous souhaitons aussi accueillir des élèves de milieux socio-économiques différents, ainsi que 10 à 20 % d’élèves à besoins éducatifs spécifiques (à définir au préalable avec les familles et, le cas échéant, la MDPH).

Pour l'année 2021-2022, il reste seulement des bourses pour les tranches 5 et 6.

Tableau_tarif_PrimaireFR.png
Tableau_tarif_CollegeFR.png

Les fournitures scolaires (au plus 90 € pour l’année scolaire) ne sont pas compris dans les tarifs.

Afin d’accueillir à la Lab School Paris des enfants et des familles de tous milieux, nous avons mis en place un système de bourses.

Le tarif maximal de la scolarité est de 1 045€ par mois sur 10 mois pour l'élémentaire et 1 115€ pour le collège.

En fonction de leurs revenus, les familles peuvent solliciter des bourses – partielles ou totales – qui sont attribuées après examen des dossiers par une commission constituée de membres du comité de pilotage et du conseil pédagogique. La commission prend en considération d’une part le revenu des parents, de l’autre la situation individuelle des familles (nombre d’enfants, revenus complémentaires, etc.).

Le nombre d’enfants  qui peuvent être inscrits dans chaque tranche tarifaire est limité et fixé à l’avance, de façon à préserver l’équilibre financier de l’établissement. Il dépend des subventions et des sources de revenus que l’école parvient à dégager en plus des frais de scolarité dont s’acquittent les parents.

Le paiement se fait en début de trimestre, sur 10 mois (septembre à juin de l’année scolaire en cours). Une cotisation solidaire de 25 € par enfant et par mois s’ajoute aux frais de scolarité : elle est acquittée par tous et peut être destinée à diminuer le coût de la scolarité ou de certains services pour les familles qui en ont le plus besoin, ou à financer d’autres projets (sorties, classe verte…).

 
IMG_7432.jpg
 

L'école en images